Battleborn was released on May 3, 2016 by 2K. The game was developed by Gearbox. Battleborn is a first person shooter video game.

Battleborn is a new FPS franchise that Gearbox hopes will become a new series. The game is set in a space fantasy setting, in which every species fled to a star known as Solus after a disastrous event that destroyed most other planets and stars in the universe.

These species are divided into different factions upon their arrivals, and eventually they united and cooperate with each other by sending out the best fighters, who are labeled as battleborn, to fight against Varelsi, the cause of the catastrophe.

Battleborn is a first-person shooter with multiplayer online battle arena elements, in which players engage in combat through a first-person perspective. Unlike other first-person shooters, the quests and game modes of the game were designed to feature a format and structure similar to a multiplayer online battle arena game.

The game will also feature a leveling system, which resets when a match begins. Recent multiplayer arena games are widely using this so that games are more skill balanced.

Players start with the same basic level, and they can unlock new skills and abilities during a match. When players gain enough skill points and are allowed to level up, they can select one of up to three choices to pick per level through each characters unique Helix Tree.

The game will feature 25 playable characters upon release, with each having different abilities and weapons. For example, Rath is a melee-based character who is equipped with a katana, while Thorn is a long-ranged character, whose primary weapon is a bow.

Characters of supporting role, such as Miko, who specializes in healing other characters of the same team, will also be playable. Each character also has their own “ultimate ability”. In addition to melee and ranged combat, characters can also cast magic and area-of-effect attacks.

Characters controlled by artificial intelligence in multiplayer will also be featured in the game. Players can also switch to third-person perspective to activate special abilities.

A campaign mode, which can be played solo or cooperatively with four other players, will also be included in the game. The game will feature an interconnected world and an objective-driven narrative. Three modes called Meltdown, an Arena mode, Incursion, which tasks players to destroy enemies’ base, and Devastation, which tasks players to capture bases, will also be featured and playable upon launch.


Operating SystemWindows 7 x64 or better
CPUCore i5-750 or better
Memory6 GB or more
Hard Drive Space30 GB
Graphics HardwareNVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 or better
AMD Radeon R9 285 or better
NetworkBroadband Internet Connection Required